Election of ACE president

Peter Davis decided to leave CC September 1 2011, and Miguel de la Mano was elected as the new ACE president, starting September 1 2011. On the general assembly of ACE in Paris October 26 2012 Miguel de la Mano decided that he would step down. Thibaud Vergé was appointed as the new president from that date. He is the chief economist of the Autorité de la Concurrence (French Competition Authority).  

Thibaud Vergé  left the agency in 2013, and Giulio Federico from the CET (Chief Economist Team) in DG Competition became the new president in January 2014.  Alexis Walckiers (Belgian Competition Authority) took over as president from January 2016.

As Alexis Walckiers stepped down as President of ACE, elections were held in December 2017 and Penelope Papandropoulos became the new President of ACE, starting 1st January 2018.

History of the ACE Presidency

Peter Davis (UK Competition Authority): …. – 1 September 2011 
Miguel De la Mano (DG Competition): 1 September 2011 to 26 October 2012 
Thibault Vergé (French Competition Authority): 26 October 2012 to 31 December 2013
Giulio Federico
(DG Competition): 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2015
Alexis Walckiers (Belgian Competition Authority): 1 January 2016 to 31 December 2017
Penelope Papandropoulos (DG Competition): as of 1 January 2018


ACE Elections to Steering Committee 1.1.2018-31.12.2020

A new member of the steering committee working for an agency was elected in December 2017. Ana Sofia Rodrigues (Portugal) was elected for a 3-year period starting 1st January 2018.  

ACE Elections to Steering Committee 1.1.2017-31.12.2019

Two new academic members of the steering committee were elected in December 2016 to serve for a 3-year period starting in January 2017:

David Martimort (Paris School of Economics)
Markus Reisinger (Frankfurt School of Finance & Management)


ACE Elections to Steering Committee 1.1.2016-31.12.2018

In December 2015 we held elections for 9 new members of the Steering Committee of ACE, to serve for a 3-year period starting in January 2016.

We had very good participation for the elections, and a tight vote especially for the consultancy slots.

As a result of the election the following people have been elected to the ACE Steering Committee starting on 1st January 2016:

Raphaël De Coninck (CRA)
Hans Friederiszick (E.CA)
Bojana Ignjatovic (RBB)
David Spector (MAPP and Paris School of Economics)

Kate Collyer (CMA)
Penelope Papandropoulos (DG Competition)
Lars Sørgard (Norwegian Competition Authority)

Giacomo Calzolari (University of Bologna)
Greg Crawford (University of Zurich)

They joined Bruno Jullien (University of Toulouse), Volker Nocke (University of Mannheim) and Alexis Walckiers (Belgian Competition Authority) on the ACE Steering Committee for 2016.

Formation of the ACE Executive Committee and selection of the President of ACE

Following the elections held in December 2015, the new Executive Committee of ACE was formed. It includes the following:

Agencies: Alexis Walckiers (Belgian Competition Authority
Consultancies: Raphaël De Coninck (CRA)
Academics: Volker Nocke (University of Mannheim)

As a result, Alexis Walckiers will be the new President of ACE from January 1 2016, taking over from Giulio Federico.